Urban Audit

The project “Urban Audit 2013-2014” covers the collection of about 160 variables on several aspects of the quality of life in European cities and agglomerations. The data collection in Austria comprises the following six cities (in descending order of number of inhabitants): Vienna, Graz, Linz, Salzburg, Innsbruck, Klagenfurt.

The data is presented on three regional levels:

  1. Larger Urban Zone (LUZ): implemented in Austria as NUTS-3-regions to achieve maximum availability of data and ensure consistency of time series
  2. City (C): implemented in Austria according to the administrative boundaries of cities (for the reasons stated above)
  3. Sub-City Districts (SCD). There are two sub-levels:
  • Sub-City District Level 1 follows existing administrative disaggregations within cities, such as municipal districts in Vienna and Graz.
  • Sub-City District Level 2 is based on the delimitation of spatially coherent units of 5,000-40,000 inhabitants. These were aggregated from census tracts for Linz, Salzburg, Innsbruck and Vienna. There are no Sub-City Districts available for Klagenfurt under the scope of this project.

The data collection covers the following topics:

  • Population
  • Housing and Households
  • Health
  • Labour Market and Employment
  • Poverty
  • Education
  • Environment
  • Transport
  • Culture and Leisure, Tourism

Further Information:

Guglgasse 13, A-1110 Vienna 
Tel.: +43 1 71128-7070 
Fax: +43 1 71128-7728 
Opening hours: Mon - Fri 9.00 am - 4.00 pm